Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…General Tso Chicken

Creative Cooking…General Tso Chicken

Now let me just preface this by saying, I am posting this recipe that I did on Sunday (3 weeks ago), today because I need to really get myself organize and post the Asian Turkey Lettuce Wraps as well as the Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Muffins.  Frankly, if I wait too long I won’t get them posted so I am posting this one. 

generaltsochicken2

I haven’t really been cooking lately it has been tuna salad sandwiches and frankly boring turkey sandwiches lately.  However, I figured I needed to eat something other than a sandwich for lunch so I choose to do this simple Asian dish, General Tso Chicken.  When I actually get take out, this is one of my favorite dishes to purchase.  Since I want to control the sodium in my diet, I decided to make it myself, with low sodium soy sauce because my blood pressure issues are infamous.  I need to keep it under control.  I found this recipe on Blogchef, and it was simple enough for me to replicate.  Did you know there is Rice Wine and Rice Wine Vinegar?  I didn’t so um, yeah left the Rice Wine out.

Ingredients:  As adapted from Blogchef.net

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts (less fat with the breast, just cut into chunks)
5 dried red chili peppers (I used crushed red peppers and 4 Thai chilis)
3 green onions (sliced)
3 eggs (beaten) (Only used 2, was worried my egg allergy would lift it head)
½ cup cornstarch
oil (for frying)

Frozen Broccoli florets thawed slightly in microwave (I added this because I like broccoli with my General Tso Chicken)

Sauce-
1 ½ tablespoons rice vinegar
2 tablespoons rice wine (didn’t have any so I added extra rice vinegar)
3 tablespoons sugar
3 tablespoons soy sauce (low sodium)
2 teaspoons cornstarch

generaltsostep1 

Cut up and seasoned and coated in the cornstarch and egg mixture.

After cutting my chicken breasts into chunks I actually season with a little sea salt.  Before heating my skillet with the oil (I use Canola), I beat two eggs and used a ½ cup of cornstarch and whisked until well blended.  And then I added my chicken and coated the pieces.  When the oil was ready, I dropped the chicken chunks in the pan in batches.  Then drain the chicken on paper towels.

generaltsostep3 

Frying it up

As the chicken was cooking I mixed up my sauce of rice vinegar, sugar, soy sauce and cornstarch. 

generaltsostep2 

Sauce

Once the chicken is done I added a tablespoon of oil to the pan and added my chili peppers and crushed peppers to the pan and stirred for about a minute.  Then you had the chicken to the pan and cook for another minute or so to coat the chicken with the peppers.  Don’t over stir where you take the batter off.  Once this is done, add your sauce and allow it to become thicken and bubbly and add your broccoli.  Serve over brown rice (my version with onions, peas, carrots) and garnished with green onions.

 generaltsochicken2

Verdict:  Delicious!  I enjoyed every mouth of this dish.  To think it would probably be better with the rice wine, gives you an idea this a great dish to make.  I was concern because the batter is eggs and cornstarch only, but I haven’t had any adverse effects from it, but I knew better than to use the 3 eggs.  Fairly easy dish that tastes great.  I really need to invest in a wok because, seriously Asian dishes tend to be easy to make if you have the ingredients on hand, but a wok would help me tremendously.  I will definitely make this one again.  Let me know if you try it! 

 generaltsochicken3

 *Also, because of my inability to post on Blogger it has been a total drag.  If you have IE8 or less, you will not be able to post properly from blogger.  Seems they no longer support IE8, which is what all the computers I use have.  Seriously, blogger?  I am in the process of moving this blog over to WordPress, but it is a process and I want it to reflect this blog accordingly.

4 thoughts on “Creative Cooking…General Tso Chicken

    • Thank you! I feel so bad because I have like 5 more recipes to post and get done and I am still trying to work out the kinks for this wordpress page. Thanks for stopping by! I use WordPress for my anonymous blog but I started shortly after I started the blogger one so I am use to it someone, but this theme isn’t making me happy right now. It will get there.

Leave a Reply

