Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Crumb Muffins

Creative Cooking…Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Crumb Muffins

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Crumb Muffins

I am taking a day to finally complete all these Creative Cooking posts and have them scheduled. Just remembering all the recipes I have done and not posted is quite daunting. All because blogger was on my nerves. By the way, I know folks still go to the blogger account but I hope folks will update their readers and move to the wordpress site. I am still not decided on whether I want to move the entire blog over here, at least not right now. Okay, enough of the admin and let’s talk about some Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Muffins I made back in July.

At least one week in the month in addition to my oatmeal or cream of wheat breakfast, my body craves something sweet and indulgent. However, that is not a good thing since I can’t seem to lose weight right now so how about something which will satisfy my sweet tooth and still remain healthy? So this was my compromise and it was a good one at that.

Ya’ll know I am on a quest to get rid of all this wheat flour I have so this recipe hit that issue as well. I found it on Caithlin Cooks.

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups of whole wheat flour
½ cup of rolled oats
1/3 cup of packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup of sugar
1 tsp of Cinnamon
2 teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of salt
2/3 cup of milk
½ cup oil
1 tsp of vanilla extract
2 lightly beaten eggs
2 cups of chopped apples
1 cup of raisins

Crumb Topping Ingredients:

1/3 cup of light brown sugar

¼ cup of all purpose flour

½ tsp of ground cinnamon

1 tbs melted butter

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and I used cupcake liners in my muffin pan.
Mix together your flour, oats, sugars, cinnamon, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together your milk, eggs, oil and vanilla extract. Then make a well with your dry ingredients and then add your wet ingredients and stirring until almost combined. Then add your chopped apples and raisins.

Muffin batter

For your crumb topping, mix all the ingredients together until crumbly.
Spoon batter into your muffin pan and cover with your crumb topping and bake for 20 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test. Cool your muffins and serve warm.

All ready for the oven…My muffin pan has seen some things…LOL!

Verdict: Yummy goodness! These cupcakes were moist and tasty you were getting a bit of apple and raisin in every bit. This definitely satisfied my sweet tooth and still remain almost healthy, but note there is fiber in these muffins. Easy recipe and you can’t really beat that.

Close up

See what gems you find inside…

Leave a Reply

