Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Creative Cooking…Turkey Lettuce Wraps

Turkey Lettuce Wraps

This recipe was one I gave to my book club members as part of our fitness agenda. We are always looking for healthy meals that we can make quite easy, because most of us are busy with work, kids and life. I modified this recipe from Skinny Kitchen.

Ingredients:

1 pound of ground turkey
4 large scallions
¼ cup of low sodium soy sauce
2 ½ tbs of hoisin sauce
1 tablespoon of minced ginger
1 tbs of water
2 tsp of sesame oil

1 tsp of  chili paste

1 head of lettuce (I used iceberg, because that is what they used at PF Changs)

Dipping sauce: (I didn’t make this sauce)
¼ cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 tbs rice vinegar
1 tbs of sugar
½ tsp of minced ginger
1 tsp of sesame oil
½ tsp of minced garlic

Ground and kinda minced turkey

Brown your ground turkey and once done drain off your fat. Return chicken to pan and when you can comfortably handle the chicken break it into small pieces, I didn’t do a whole lot of breaking it up. Then add your scallions, soy sauce, hoisin sauce, ginger, chili paste, sesame oil and water and cook for a few minutes.

Then you can make your dipping sauce. I preferred not to use a dipping sauce.
Just spoon your turkey into your lettuce leaves and viola! You are done!

Viola done…

Verdict: So simple. However, this simple dish is full of flavor and the addition of the chili paste gave me the heat I love in Asian dishes. Very tasty. I plan next time to use ground chicken to see how well it absorbs the flavors. So if you are looking for a healthy and quick dish to fix during the week here is one for you. Each wrap if you use the chicken is only 62 calories. Yeah, nice. They are substantial and I ate these as an entrée with a simple salad. Enjoy and let me know if you try it.

