Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Flat Apple Pie with Brown Sugar Caramel

Creative Cooking…Flat Apple Pie with Brown Sugar Caramel

Flat Apple Pie with Brown Sugar Caramel…hot from the oven.

I love me some Pioneer Woman recipes. She has such a variety on her site, but even the most novice of cooks can find something to make and actually have it come out great! I got this recipe from Marin Homestead and she adapted the recipe from Pioneer Woman.

I plan to use the filling version for an Apple Pie Crumble for the holidays, if I don’t get too lazy.

Ingredients: Adapted from Marin Homestead

Apple mixture:
6 Granny Smith Apples, peeled and sliced
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 TB all purpose flour
1 TB cinnamon
1 pinch grated nutmeg
1 tbs of lemon juice
1/2 tsp sea salt
6 TB butter
I used Pillsbury pie crusts, because 1) I am a lazy cook and 2) I am not a baker. Cool?

Preheat your oven to 375.

Sliced apples with ingredients…

After you have peeled and sliced your apples in a large bowl add your lemon juice or half of a lemon and coat the apples with the juice to keep the apples from browning. Add your sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, sea salt and flour to the apples.

Only a lightly floured surface roll your pie dough into large circles and try not to do too much back and forth rolling. I didn’t roll but a little because I used store bought dough.

In the oven…

I lined my baking sheet with parchment paper because I already knew there was going to some spillage. I read some reviews of the recipes. You don’t? I always try to if there are some reviews to read.

With the two pie crusts you want to half your apple mixture into both and bring your edges up over the mixture. I left an opening so you could see my apples and butter. Then using my store bought cinnamon/sugar mixture (Dollar store $1.00) I sprinkled it around the crust. Bake for about 50 minutes or until golden brown.

The Caramel sauce came from here Café Surcre:

1 stick of butter
¾ cup of brown sugar (I used light brown sugar the one I made from scratch)
½ cup of whipping cream
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
A pinch of sea salt

 

Brown Sugar Caramel Sauce

First melt your butter in a sauce pan and then add your brown sugar whisking to combine. Then add your cream and let it simmer for 5 minutes. Then add the vanilla extract and sea salt. Stir until completely combine. Serve warm and store in refrigerator.

Done…

Verdict: Absolutely delicious. Although the recipe is adapted from others, it is the adding of what works for you that makes this one an easy recipe to prepare. I am not a baker and I just don’t see myself learning to pie dough right now. Maybe down the line when I feel like a crazy challenge, but the store bought dough worked marvelously. The pie was tasty and the caramel sauce is to die for! Look out Christmas or maybe Thanksgiving because a version of this pie will be on the menu. Let me know if you try!

Flat Apple Pie with homemade Vanilla ice cream…I am that jazzy!

Delicious!

Leave a Reply

