Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Pioneer’s Woman’s Best Chocolate Sheet Cake Ever

Creative Cooking…Pioneer’s Woman’s Best Chocolate Sheet Cake Ever

 

Best Chocolate Sheet Cake Ever

 

Sometimes when I am PMSing, I crave certain foods and life will stop and the earth will stop spinning on its axis until I get it. Thank goodness, these cravings don’t happen every month. Well, this month the craving said and I quote, “You want a cake and you want an easy one to make. No mixer. No hardwork. Easy. I mean easy. And you want it tonight when you get off work.” Seriously, my craving said all that and may have added a few curse words when I was searching for a recipe. I even contemplated doing my own recipe or even stopping at the store to buy a store bought cake mix. The horror! However, smarter minds prevailed and I decided to find a recipe in which I had all the ingredients at home. What did I come up with, you may ask? The Pioneer Woman’s Best Chocolate Sheet Ever

This cake has simple ingredients and the process was easy and I was done and eating my light dinner of baked tilapia and steamed broccoli with 40 minutes, but I wasn’t going to bed without my craving being assuage.  Plus, you can’t go wrong with most of the recipes on Pioneer Woman’s site.

I did change a few things, but not much.

Ingredients:

Cake:

2 cups of flour
2 cups of sugar
¼ tsp of salt
4 tbs of cocoa
2 sticks of butter
½ cup of 2% milk (well a little under ½ cup of the milk and vinegar to make it an ½ cup. Made my own buttermilk just as Pioneer Woman suggested)
2 beaten eggs
1 tsp of baking soda
1 tsp of Vanilla extract

Frosting:

½ of chopped pecans (my knife skills aren’t great, yet.)
1 and ¾ sticks of butter (1 stick + 6 tbs)
4 tbs of Special Dark cocoa
6 tbs of milk ( used my 2%, that is all I had)
1 tsp of Vanilla Extract
2 cups of powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine your flour, sugar and salt in a mixing bowl. You do not need a mixer for this recipe. Remember it is simple. Also, start boiling some water.

Melt your butter and cocoa together, stirring to combine.

Butter and Cocoa mixture

Add your cup of boiling water to the butter and cocoa mixture and boil for 30 seconds or well combined. Then turn the heat off. Pour over your flour mixture.
In a measuring cup make your buttermilk with milk and vinegar, add your eggs, baking soda and vanilla. Then add to your butter/flour mixture and stir until combined. Pour onto a greased sheet pan and bake for 20 – 25 minutes. I baked mine for 25 minutes because of my oven.

Flour and butter/cocoa mixture

 

Poured into a greased sheet pan.

 

The icing is quite simple chop up your pecans. Melt your butter and then add your Special Dark cocoa because you want a dark chocolate icing (my craving wanted it). Once combine turn off the heat so you do not burn it. Add the milk, vanilla and powder sugar and stir until well combined. Add your pecan and stir some more and pour over your warm cake.

Icing…

Fresh out of the oven…yummy!

Just so you can see the comparison of the cake and icing.

Final product…

 

 

 

Cut and then eat.

Cake…Cake…Cake! (That’s my craving)

Verdict: I do not make good chocolate cakes. You wouldn’t know this from my Creative Cooking posts because I rarely post cake recipes, mainly because I do not have that baker’s patience. So I was skeptical this would really turn out great and I really hoped it would because dealing with my craving is not something I want to deal with in our current below freezing temperatures. (I didn’t want drag myself to the store.) And the angels sang…this cake was delicious! The cake was moist, tasty and my craving was happy and it only took one piece for it to be happy. The easiness of this recipe is deceptive because it turns out a very good tasting piece of cake without the extra fuss and muss. I ate my dinner because I needed protein and some veggies, but I would have been happy with just a piece of cake. I can’t wait try it with peanut butter. If you try it let me know…

Looka here…

 

Moist and tasty

 

One more time…

 

Leave a Reply

