Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Spicy Shrimp with Chilies and Garlic and some Whine…

Creative Cooking…Spicy Shrimp with Chilies and Garlic and some Whine…

Spicy Shrimp with Chilies and Garlic

 

When you start changing your eating habits the fear is you will be reduced to eating foods that are not flavorful or just bland and boring. I do not like diets that are too restrictive because eventually I will be back to eating those restricted foods, what you want to learn to do is control portion sizes and eat the things you love, but aren’t good for you in moderation. If I was told I couldn’t eat meat every again, I would probably die. Quick. I eat vegetables and fruits, but asking me to forego meat forever, ever…ever. No.

So with this WW thing I am so glad I was already a Skinnytaste follower because she has an arsenal of WW friendly meals with calorie counts and points included. And that takes a load off you trying to get the calculations right. Thank you, Gina!

This morning I weighed in and had lost another pound, this thing is going slow. Ugh! However, I am not giving up so easily. Then I tracked my weight and damn. No let me say damn again. Damn. Okay, that is three times. Well of course they changed my points. I almost had a coronary. I went from having 36 points to now only allowed 26 points. Shut up! Now I was perplexed with my sister only having 29 points, now I am down right aggravated. First of all, I need to have several seats because at the end of the day most days I have well over 10 points remaining. I have yet to use my activity points and last night I had accrued over 61 points and I have not touched the extra 49 points I get every week. So I must quit my belly aching. Lord, please don’t have my mind making me feel like I am hungry. Amen.

I will live, but seriously, I have to eat more because my metabolism isn’t in overdrive yet. I am doing 55 minutes minimum of cardio most week days, but I haven’t seen a significant weight loss yet and I know it is because of my metabolism. I had already said I was going to increase my food intake, with more fruits and vegetables and introduce protein back into my morning meal. Sighing…and the drama continues.

However, this is a Creative Cooking post with some whining. I made this dish last week and this week because one it was easy and two because I had all the ingredients except the shrimp in my refrigerator. You don’t want to be hungry and trying to cook at the same time. So planning is important. Usually, at my grocery store they have small portions of cleaned and deveined shrimp discounted or a reasonable price and it usually is well under a pound of shrimp which is good for this dish. Although I do not use as much protein, I still use the same amount of flavorings. Skinnytaste posted the shrimp and I pinned it the same day I saw it. And at only 3 points, this is a great meal with a small salad and if you like, rice. I enjoy eating mine with salad.

Ingredients: Spicy Shrimp with Chilies and Garlic (As adapted)

  •  ½ pounds peeled and deveined medium shrimp
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • Tbs of crushed red pepper flakes
  • 5 garlic cloves, crushed
  • juice of 1 lemon  I tried it the first time, but prefer without the lemon
  • 3 tbsp chopped fresh parsley I have a great disdain for parsley, I don’t use it, but I did garnish with cilantro, which I like. Go figure…

Season the shrimp with salt and pepper to taste.

Shrimp, Olive Oil, Red Pepper Flakes

 

Shrimp, Olive Oil, Red Pepper flakes and minced garlic

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add 1/2 tbsp of the oil to the pan with half of the crush red pepper flakes and cook 1 to 2 minutes. Increase the heat to medium-high, when hot add half of the shrimp. Cook without turning for about 1 1/2 minutes. Turn the shrimp over and cook until opaque throughout, about 1 minute. Transfer to a plate.  I cooked in 2 batches because I didn’t want my shrimp to get watery or steam I wanted them a bit crispy on the outside.  Repeat and when you turn the second batch over, add your garlic and continue cooking until done and return the first batch of shrimp back to the skillet and stir so all the shrimp is infused with the garlic.

Yummy! Look at the pepper…

Then you can use your lemon and garnish with cilantro.  I ate mine with a salad.

Verdict:  This is already on regular rotation because the ease and simplicity of the meal.  I like not having to do too much before my dinner, especially since I am hungry by the time I get home from work.  The flavors meld well together and the spiciness was wonderful because I used the red pepper flakes and it was the right amount of heat for me.  Just don’t over cook your shrimp.  And make sure the pan is hot and do the shrimp in batches so they cook quickly and not steam creating a juicy mess.  I actually prefer the taste without the lemon juice but by all means if you like a squeeze of lemon on your shrimp have at it.  This is an easy and tasty dish.  Let me know if you try it.

 

Delicious!

2 thoughts on “Creative Cooking…Spicy Shrimp with Chilies and Garlic and some Whine…

  1. That looks delicious!

    I’m like you … I can’t have a restricted diet either. I believe that everyone should have the foods they enjoy in moderation. I am actually tired of all these fads of people restricting this and that … it’s like JUST LIVE!

    • Faith – I want to lose weight but I do not want to eat bland or boring foods. I am not about restricting foods, I believe if you can learn to eat things in moderation your body will thank you later. Otherwise, you will binge and I do not want to do that. There are too many fad diets which are not teaching folks how to eat properly. I just read an article about why eating gluten-free when you do not have an allergy or intolerance to it, is ignoring the fact folks actually suffer from celiac disease and it isn’t going to necessarily cause you to lose weight.

Leave a Reply

