Home » Uncategorized » Garden Tales 2014 Part 1

Garden Tales 2014 Part 1

Pretty Pink Rose…

Well the garden is coming along fine.  Things are sprouting in all my containers and in the actual raised garden.  Now that I have things growing and such, things are looking great.  I know it will be a while for the tomatoes to grow and with the rain we have gotten in this last week; I am going to have to monitor them closely.

My geraniums look a bit paltry, but I know with some sun and feedings they will be gorgeous soon enough.  My pink roses are blooming and it won’t be long before my Hybrid Tea Rose (Lincoln) will be blooming.  Roses make me happy because I love the way they smell and you know sunflowers just make me smile.

However, I made a horrifying discovery on Monday, while I was off.  In a hurry to feed my plants before the rain descended upon us, I noticed that the soil in my raised garden looked different, like it had been disturbed.  So I kneel down and look at my sprouts and notices something had bothered them so without gloves I start moving the soil around.  Why the hell did I do that?  Because I ran my hand over what I would soon discover was cat shit.  Yes, I said it.  Cat. Shit.  OMG!  If a camera had been on me you would have seen a 44-year old black female run to the garden hose and immediately wash her hands as she is hopping around and screaming.  I was disgusted.  Then I proceeded to go in the house and wash with soap, bleach, wash, bleach, sanitize and do it all over again.  I was a wreck.  After about 20 minutes of this, I put on garden gloves, because that is what the hell they are for, and shoveled the shit out of the raised garden, literally.  Then I had to google what to do if you have a stray cat using your raised garden as a litter box.  Google it.  I found remedies including chicken wire, citrus peels, bamboo skewers to cayenne pepper.  I went with the cayenne pepper because that is what I had on hand.  My garden looks like it has red soil.  Sighing…but there hasn’t been any evidence of the cat returning.  Yet.  In the 3 years I have been doing this gardening thing, no cat has ever used my raised garden as a litter box.  I guess because it had room to dig and shit it made use of my garden, but I ain’t about that really.  Sorry cat lovers. 

Here are some pictures of the progress…

 

May 1, 2014

2 thoughts on “Garden Tales 2014 Part 1

  1. I’m a cat lover and owner but that is disgusting! I would have been freaking out too! Bare hands … I’m cringing just thinking about it … ugh!

    And seriously, why would a cat do that … litter has a scent!

    But glad besides that, that your garden is going well! It’s looking beautiful!

    • Faith, there are two stray cats in my neighborhood and one has been around since before my Uncle died, because he used to feed her. And he finally stopped feeding her when I told him the front of the house smelled like a litter box. And that was well over 8 years ago. I think it was of so much loose soil…But no other problems. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

