Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Bourbon Chicken Part Two

Creative Cooking…Bourbon Chicken Part Two

Bourbon Chicken

Yummy!

 

 

Remember I made the Bourbon Chicken and I wasn’t overly impressed with the final product?  Well, I decided to give it another try and use 100% Apple juice and I used boneless skinless chicken thighs.  Oh what a difference this made.  The chicken added additional flavor and I think the apple juice was just a quirk in my imagination because I am not sure how much the apple cocktail was so different since you only use a ¼ of a cup.  Go figure.  Anyway, this redo was necessary because so many people enjoy this dish, which I have never seen in the Asian restaurants here, and after this last try, I understand.  Very tasty and easy to make.

Ingredients:

2 lbs of Chicken breasts thighs cut into bite size pieces (light salt & pepper)

2 tbs of olive oil

1 ½ tbs of minced garlic

¼ tsp of ground ginger

¾ tsp of crushed red pepper

¼ cup of apple juice

1/3 cup of light brown sugar

2 tbs of ketchup

1 tbs of cider vinegar

½ cup of water

1/3 cup of soy sauce

½ tsp of cornstarch with a tbs of water to make a quick slurry *

I used the same ingredients with the changes seen above.  Click the link in first paragraph for detail instructions.

 

Verdict:

Much better the second time around….13 Weight watcher points.

 

Bourbon Chicken over brown rice with broccoli and carrots

4 thoughts on “Creative Cooking…Bourbon Chicken Part Two

Leave a Reply

