Home » Uncategorized » Creative Cooking…Mini Salted Caramel Apple Pies

Creative Cooking…Mini Salted Caramel Apple Pies

Mini Salted Caramel Apple Pies

 

I love apple pie. I really do.  I remember a long time ago my cousin mistakenly brought home an apple cobbler from the Beautiful restaurant in Atlanta.  He was supposed to bring peach cobbler, I am so glad he didn’t because whether it is an apple pie or apple cobbler I am in heaven.  Don’t be alarm, but I am really not an peach cobbler fan.  Stop clutching your pearls, hell I am from the south and I do not eat collard greens, dressing or cornbread.  Recently, I guess because of the fall weather approaching I saw several pins on Pinterest for these little gems.  I checked them out on Justataste.com, and knew I could replicate them, but um, you know I ain’t making homemade pie crusts.  I ain’t about that life.  I don’t want to hear how once I do it I will never want to buy store bought again…blah, blah.  Look I am not a real baker and my patience is that of a gnat.  So let me be and let me tell you how I made this recipe!  LOL!

Ingredients: As adapted from Justataste.com (please go to the site for the full recipe and how to make your own pie crust dough)

1 Pillsbury pie crust (I only used one)

2 cups finely peeled and diced small Granny Smith apples

2 teaspoons of lemon juice (yes, I used the concentrate, shoot me)

½ tsp of cinnamon

¼ cup of sugar

2 tsp of all-purpose flour

3 tbs of Salted Caramel sauce (ice cream topping aisle)

A couple of soft caramels for decorating

1 egg with a tbs of water for an egg wash

Sugar for the topping of the pies

Preheat oven to 425 degree

I began by cutting my apples up finely and then tossing them with some lemon juice. Then I added the flour, cinnamon, sugar, Salted Caramel sauce and coated the apples completely and set the mixture to the side.  Please cut your apples up finely because you will have a real problem when you assemble these beauties.

Chopped apples, cinnamon, salted caramel, sugar

 

 

Circles and my decorating skills…

I then floured my surface for rolling out the pie crust, not too thin, and using a glass with an approximate rim size of 3 inches I cut out my pie rounds. Make sure you have an even number and continue to roll and cut until you can’t make anymore.  On a parchment lined cookie sheet I set up the bottoms for the mini pies and placed a small amount of the apple mixture in the center of the round.  Not too much, or you will have a problem.  Once that is done, time to put the tops on, I actually rolled them out just a bit so I could assemble the pies easily.  With the tops on and sealed, I used a fork and tried to get fancy.  I ain’t a baker, geez!  LOL!  Then I placed two slits on each pie for ventilation.  My final steps were to brush each pie with the egg wash and sprinkle with sugar.  And when I become a real baker, I will buy the proper sugar, maybe…LOL!

I baked for 20 minutes or until golden brown. In a microwave safe bowl, I melted a couple of soft caramels and drizzled it on the pies for a little decorative flair.

Yummy!

Verdict: This was not as strenuous as I thought it would be, it took me about 30 minutes to get everything ready and in the oven.  These mini pies were so good!  They were these little pockets of apple love.  The flaky crust and the slightly sweet, but with hint of salt taste to the apples, yummy! They were so good.  For a holiday dinner party, these would be great.  I will definitely make these again.  Let me know if you try them!

So good…please try it!

2 thoughts on “Creative Cooking…Mini Salted Caramel Apple Pies

Leave a Reply

