Home » Uncategorized » Happy New Year! (Long and picture heavy)

Happy New Year! (Long and picture heavy)

Christmas flow…

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!

I hope you had a wonderful holiday season filled with joy, family and peace.  I can say my holiday was wonderful.  Good food, friends, family and peace.  Oh, and I got plenty of rest, the benefits of living alone.  LOL!  I am going to tell you right now this is going to be long.  I have a lot to catch you up on so let’s go!

After Thanksgiving, I am in holiday decorating and get ready for the annual book club meeting mode.  What I didn’t count on was the anemia the effects of being tired into my plans.  Basically, I found myself having to pace myself and when I was tired, I rested.  I really didn’t care for this type of detour, but I didn’t have much of a choice.

Since I was making my gifts for the book club members again, I had to do a plan run.  I decided to make body butter this year.  The first run was okay, but not the consistency I wanted so I knew I needed to crank up the Kitchen Aid for the best results.  Learning my lesson from last year, I ordered my items and had them shipped to my second job.  It really took the pressure off me worrying about if my stuff was going to be stolen.  PTSD is real folks.  Anyway, I made the body butter over two nights and it came out wonderfully.  I am so proud of myself.  Here is a picture.  I should have taken a picture with the label and everything on it.  I wrapped them simply in colored tissue paper and ribbon.  Go me!  The ladies loved it.

Georgia Peach Body Butter

I also had to prepare for my marathon cookie baking night so the weekend before that day; I made up batches of dough and froze them.  Prepping ahead of time helped me tremendously on marathon day.  I had five varieties of cookies:  Chocolate Chip Toffee Nut, Triple Ginger, White Chocolate Toffee Macadamia Nut, Chocolate Mint and Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Raisin.  I may not be a baker, but I can make some tasty cookies.  I guess the kids appreciated them.  The reason I say I guess is this group is the most selfish and inconsiderate group of folks I have had a pleasure of working with on my 2nd job.  No, really.  Normally, they see me coming with the cookies and they meet me at my car to take them inside the store.  I had to literally ask one them to get the cookies from me as they watched me bring them into the store.  Then they proceeded to bag up cookies, which meant the folks working the next day wouldn’t get any.  I had to put a stop to that.  In the years I have been doing this, no one has ever done what they azzes did.

The cookies…

The cookies from the side…

Besides the gifts for the book club members I had to prepare my food for them as well.  Luckily, one of my former members wanted to try some new recipes on the group so I was so thankful for her help.  I also cut back on some things as well.  If they don’t eat the stuff I didn’t make the stuff.  Meatballs are off the list for next year.  LOL!  I did a Srichachi Chicken recipe, which was tasty but not spicy enough for me and I did Bang Bang Shrimp as well.  Let’s just say when I went to clean up, there wasn’t much food to put up they had grazed completely.  I am so glad I was taught to put some food up and never to put all your food out.  Our meeting was really good because we discussed Debbie Doesn’t Do it Anymore by Walter Mosley, I really loved this story by him.  One day, I will write the review for Ptolemy Grey because seriously the Easy Rawlins and Leonid McGill stories are good, but his other stories are better.    The day after book club I slept.  I was TIRED!

The spread…well just the food the desserts were on a side table/buffet…

Book Club flow…

After the book club meeting, it was time to get ready for Christmas and since I was hosting I had to do a quick clean up in preparation.  I was doing my usual yeast rolls and sweet potato soufflé.  So when I got off work on Christmas Eve, I got down to getting everything ready.  This worked out really well because I took a nap before I began the cooking as I said before naps help the energy.  By the time family arrived on Christmas, I was bursting with anticipation.  I just wanted to spend time with my family and of course see my club buddy, Carson.  Dinner was amazing it was just wonderful to spend time with family and the atmosphere was electric.  I was thanked by everyone for coming up with the idea.  I think they were surprised at all the decorations as well as how well I keep the house.  We had a ball folks.  Even when Carson was having a temper tantrum it was blissful.  And guess what?  The cleanup was minimal.  Everyone who brought a dish took what was left back home and I gave away the soufflés and most of the rolls.  Yes!  Luckily, I was off from my main job the next day so I rested until time to go to the 2nd job.

Family…

 

Family…

 

Family…

 

Family…

 

Family…

 

Carson…I called his name and he stopped to focus on the camera, for real!

 

Me on Christmas Day…

Next up was getting ready for New Year’s Day.  For me means, cleaning the house and snatching down the Christmas decorations.  Can someone tell me why it takes me hours to put up the decorations but only takes 30 to 40 minutes to snatch them down and box them up?  I kept putting it off for days, but I got it done by Monday because I just refused to take down decorations and have to clean on Wednesday.  On New Year’s Eve, I left work early and hit the grocery store, sighing.  I am so over my grocery store dilemma.  I got a few items and of course my poster board so I could do my vision board.  Then I got home and took a short nap (I am getting kinda shame to keep saying how many naps I have taken.).  I got up and changed linens, washed linens, washed clothes, mopped & waxed floors, vacuumed, clean bathrooms, cleaned the kitchen and did my vision board and was finished before 10 pm.  I then took a long bath and tried to stay awake until midnight with a glass of wine.  I barely made it.  I talked to one cousin and the other one said she called me at 1 am.  I was like baby I was sleep.  Yes, they did the obligatory gun shots but they were finished well before I went to sleep.  Why do they do this though?

For Lala’s birthday, her mom took her and her sisters to Disneyland and she thought this box was her present…LOL!

 

Hunny Bunny texted me this picture when they were headed to Disneyland showing off her outfit. She is too cute and y’all the fedora I got her for Christmas probably made me the cool aunt for few minutes!

 

 

My sister and her girls! Why is Birthday girl looking like this????

Now the holidays are over.  It was a good season.  Not a perfect season, but a good one.  I spent a lot of time with family and I think for me, was most important.  No resolutions, but I plan to take 2015 as if it is a job.  I want to cross off some goals and enjoy living life.  Trying to not take negative baggage with me through the New Year and keep striving to be the best person I can be.  So following the course set by God, I am ready for whatever is ahead!

One more picture of Carson, coloring on my money envelop, on my leg, while telling me the colors of the crayons…

Leave a Reply

