Home » Uncategorized » February Ipsy Subscription Review

February Ipsy Subscription Review

Since I was quite young, I have always been fascinated with makeup.  And you see I use it.  So I decided to get one of those beauty subscription boxes.  Between Essence and Ipsy, I choose Ipsy because of the price and you could kinda customize your boxes.  With Essence, you don’t get to customize and when reading reviews, because I do read reviews, one of the main complaints was the amount of hair products you get in your box.  You know I have Sisterlocks and I don’t put any and everything in my locks.  So they kinda cancelled themselves out.  Well I got my first Ipsy box.  You get a sneak peak of the possible items at the first of the month and I was a bit disappointed I didn’t get the Smashbox Oil Primer, but I got some good items except the hair stuff.  I actually redid my questionnaire for Ipsy and they only ask one question about your hair and that is the texture.  Needless to say, hair products are going to be given away. 

So let me go over what was in my Ipsy bag in case you like to try new makeup and skincare products without spending all your money on things you may not like and can’t return.  Your items come in the mail in a colorful bubble envelop and enclosed in the envelop is a small makeup bag with your goodies.  This month’s goodies included five items ranging from makeup, skincare and hair.

20160211_180157-1_zpsqkhows3s

You get this cute little makeup bag, which is a great accessory for makeup and easily fits in your bag for those touch ups.  I rarely do touchups.  I am lazy like that but I will reapply lipstick. 

20160211_180402_zpssdlotao4

Cute little make up bag

The one item I will not use and will be giving away is the Curl Keeper Total Control for Frizzy Hair.  Um, for obvious reasons this will not work for me.  My sister doesn’t use it either.  This item was the one thing I couldn’t get excited for because my locks and unknown products do not go together.

20160211_180355-1_zpsn4xbqrja

Thumbs down, because I have Sisterlocks!

My favorite item was the dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion.  This product is amazing.  I have large pores on my nose and on the cheeks of my face, which can be annoying, but it can also keep you oily.  The ones on my cheek don’t keep me oily but they are noticeable.  With this product, a little goes a long way and if I had been smart I would have taken a before and after shot of my pores to show you how well this product worked on my skin.  You basically rub in your large pore areas and let the product sit on the skin for a few minutes and then wash away.  I saw an immediate difference.  The scrub is rough, however, not so rough as to damage one’s skin.  This bag was worth it just for this product, real talk.

20160211_180336_zpsryvzczx0

dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion is amazing! Really does reduce the appearance of your pores.

Also included in the bag was a Mr. Write (Now) Balm pencil in gold.  Not sure how I am going to use it because it is barely visible on my skin, but the color is pretty.  So we will see.

20160211_180328_zpsrjbsx1pw

The Balm, Mr. Write (Now)…so so.

I also received a Chella lipstick pencil in a pinky sparkly color.  If you like pink lipstick with a hint of sparkle you will like this lipstick, however, for me I ain’t into pinks period.  But this month’s theme for Ipsy was Pretty In Ipsy Pink.

20160211_180316_zps8gjhf5xk

This is a shimmery pink…not my color.

My 2nd favorite item was the brush from Luxe.  This brush is great for lining under the lower eyelashes and I love brushes.

20160211_180303_zpswym63m9k

Love this Luxe brush.

So for $10, I think I got a bargain.  If nothing else, the Dr. Brandt PoreDermabrasion was worth it because I will definitely purchase it when I finish the sample.  Do you get beauty boxes and such?  If you do let me know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

