Home » Uncategorized » Blogmas Day 20: Christmas Dinner

Blogmas Day 20: Christmas Dinner

I wish my folks weren’t traditional or so damn allergic, because I get tired of eating ham and turkey for Thanksgiving and then Christmas. I am so over it.  The thing is…no one wants to move out of their comfort zone.

We have similar foods from Thanksgiving on Christmas, but more casseroles and pasta salads. The desserts are in abundance as well.  Don’t get me wrong it tastes good, but sometimes my mouth just wants something different.  What, you may ask?  Well…

How about a prime rib? I would love a good prime rib with horseradish sauce or, if we didn’t have those folks who are allergic to shellfish, seafood. Just the thought of tables covered in crabs, lobster, shrimp, squid, mussels and fish has my mouth watering and a look of pure anticipation.  It ain’t gonna happen.

Seafood is expensive and have you priced prime rib lately? For real ain’t gonna happen.  Plus, my folks would over cook the prime rib.  Blood creeps them out, where it pisses me off to have overdone steak.  It is just a thought though.

I guess I want to do something different for Christmas and changing up the menu makes for a subtle change. However, everyone isn’t open for that kinda change.  Eventually, I want to just travel for the holiday season so my want of prime rib and seafood can be met.

The thing is Christmas dinner is about more than the food and the gifts; it is about family and fellowshipping. We do not get together very much anymore especially since my aunt died, so I expect no different this year, but I was promised some turnip greens…

What traditions does your family follow religiously?

Leave a Reply

