Blogmas Day 8: Creative Cooking Slow Cooker Loaded Baked Potato Soup

It is cold here in Alabama, like really cold. Like we went from summer to winter.  You know if it gets below 60 degrees it is cold, right?  So that means soup, but not my homemade everything but the kitchen sink soup.  I can’t overfill my refrigerator right before my Christmas book club meeting.  A while back I saw a recipe for a crock pot loaded baked potato soup and thought I would give it a try.  And I am so glad I did, because this is one those soups that sticks to your ribs without putting you to sleep right after lunch.  I can’t be taking a nap at my desk…LOL!

I got the recipe from Food.com and of course I made a few changes, because you all know I do not like real cheese.

Ingredients:

6 lg baking potatoes cubed

1 lg onion

32 oz of Reduced Sodium Chicken Broth

3 cloves of minced garlic

¼ cup of butter

1 cup of cream

Salt and pepper to taste (I used Cajun seasoning and pepper)

1 cup of Velveeta Shreds or your favorite sharp cheddar cheese

3 tbs of fresh green onions

Garnish:

Bacon

Green onions

Velveeta Shreds

20161204_222234_zpssdlccpvo

Everything in the slow cooker/crock pot!

In your crock pot or slow cooker, place your potatoes, onions, broth, garlic, salt/Cajun seasoning and pepper. Turn your slow cooker on low for 8 hours.  Then you need to mash your potatoes I left some cubed so I could have the extra texture.  Add the potatoes back to the slow cooker and then add your cheese, cream and onions.  Your mixture will be thickened and the smell will have you ready to indulge.  Add your bacon, green onions and Velveeta as garnishment and get to eating!

20161207_141743_zpsg4abocou

Loaded baked potato soup…yummy!

Verdict: OMG!  This was so good.  It tasted like a loaded baked potato and very filling.  And although the only meat is the garnishment of bacon, but seriously this soup will fill you up without the meat.  It is worth giving it a try on those nice and cold days.  Let me know if you try it!

20161207_141819_zps4qwxjwmz

Creamy, flavorful goodness!